Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | JOIN FPA
News & Press: News Release

FPA Celebrates our Award Recipients

Sunday, July 12, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Michael Jackson

2020 Award Recipients from the FPA

Association Recognizing Outstanding Service

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA – The Florida Pharmacy Association is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Achievement Awards.

The Florida Pharmacy Association is pleased to announce Florida Pharmacist, James Wright, as the recipient of the 2020 R.Q. Richards Public Relations Award. After graduating from the University of Florida, he went on to staffing in a hospital and then to starting FIVE Points Pharmacy and Wellness in 2012. He has been a member of FPA since 2012 and served on the Government Affairs Council in 2016, 2017, and 2018.

Jeff Consaul has been named the 2020 Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award recipient. This esteemed award is presented by a leader in providing insurance products and risk management solutions to pharmacy professionals; Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company. This new pharmacist was nominated by a committee of his peers after exceeding the criteria required for this prestigious award.

Duval County pharmacist Neil Barnett has received the 2020 DCPA Sidney Simkowitz Pharmacy Involvement Award. He graduated from Nova Southeastern University and has served as the past President, Vice President, Officer, and Board Member with of the Duval County Pharmacy Association. Currently, he serves as the Duval County Pharmacy Association Chairman of the Board and has held the position of Florida Pharmacy Association Region 2 Director since 2015.

Congratulations to this years Interamerican Pharmacist Association’s Roman Maximo Corrons Inspiration and Motivation Award Recipient, Kathy Petsos. She graduated from the University of Florida in 1979 and has been and FPA member since 1985. Throughout her career she has been active in local, state and national associations. In the past she has received the R.Q. Richards Award, The Sidney Simkowitz Pharmacy Involvement Award, The Bowl of Hygeia and was named “Pharmacist of the Year” by FPA in 2007. She currently, holds the status as Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association and sponsors students at APhA and FPA political Committee Events.

The NASPA-UPSHER Smith Excellence in Innovation Award has been presented to Alachua County's Timothy Rogers. He has been an FPA member since 1980 and was the Florida Pharmacy Association president from 2015 to 2016. This esteemed award is presented to this pharmacist that has demonstrated significant innovation in their practice, method or service, resulting in improved patient care and/or advancement of the profession of pharmacy.

The Florida Pharmacy Association is pleased to announce the 2020 recipient of the Frank Toback Consultant Pharmacist Award is William Garst. This recipient received his PharmD from the University of Colorado in Denver and has been a member of the FPA since 1984. Currently, he is the owner of Reliable Consulting Pharmacy Services LLC and the Chair of the board of the Alachua County Association of Pharmacists. He serves as the Vice Chair of the Alachua County Health Care Advisory Board and serves the homeless at Grace Pharmacy in Gainesville.

Congratulations to the recipient of the NASPA/APhA Bowl of Hygeia Award, Humberto Martinez. In 1992, when Hurricane Andrew hit South Florida, he volunteered his time to distribute medications to the people in the community and ran a mini pharmacy in a trailer to continue to provide medications to the community. He is a member of the Medical Reserve Corps where he provided vaccinations to the citizens of Miami during the H1N1 Flu Scare and interviewed and collected urine samples from residents during the ZIKA outbreak event. He has served as the Team Captain, Battalion Chief in charge of all the team captains in Miami-Dade county, and as the Logistics Chief of the Community Emergency Response Team. He is now mostly involved with CERT and researching how to help the community during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 2020 recipient of The Jean Lamberti Mentorship Award goes to Gainesville, Florida pharmacist Charlie Brown. He received his pharmacy degree from the University of Florida in 1980 and served as a colonel in the United States Army. He has been a member of the Alachua County Association of Pharmacists for over 20 years, serving on the board of directors in many capacities, including President. Currently, he is the Corresponding Secretary and the Treasurer. He established the Student Engagement Fund within the Alachua County Association of Pharmacists, encouraging students to be more involved in local and state pharmacy associations.

Congratulations to the recipient of the 2020 Technician of the Year Award, Brian Willever. He has been an FPA member since 2012, and a licensed pharmacy technician since 2004. He received his Bachelor of Arts in Communication from Florida Atlantic University in 1992 and is currently the Owner and Treasurer of Royal Wellington Pharmacy.

James Wright

Jeff Consaul

Neil Barnett

Kathy Petsos

Tim Rogers

William Garst

Humberto Martinez

Charlie Brown

Brian Willever



The FPA is a state wide professional pharmacy organization working to unify and strengthen the voice of pharmacy while advancing pharmacy practice through education, advocacy collaboration, and relationships.

130th Annual FPA Meeting and Convention
July 9 - 12, 2020

Florida Pharmacy Association  | 610 North Adams Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32301
(850) 222-2400 |
A Member Service of the Florida Pharmacy Association